Marvel’s Phases 1-6 Explained – Guide For Fans

Marvel Phase

Are you a Marvel fan confused about the Marvel phases? If so, you have landed on the right page.

Right now, we are into Marvel Phase 5, which sits right in the middle of The Multiverse Saga. If you are feeling a bit lost in all the jargon, don’t worry, we have got your back. In this post, we will give you a brief rundown of each phase and a glimpse into what lies ahead.

Marvel Phase 1 (2008-2012)

Phase 1 kicked off with “Iron Man” in 2008, introducing us to billionaire genius Tony Stark and his transformation into the armoured Avenger. This film laid the groundwork for the MCU but also set the bar high for superhero movies to come.

The movies featured in this phase:

  • Iron Man
  • The Incredible Hulk
  • Iron Man 2
  • Thor
  • Captain America: The First Avenger
  • The Avengers

Marvel Phase 2 (2013-2015)

Phase 2 digs deeper into the MCU universe. Each film further explored the individual journeys of our favourite heroes while also building towards larger interconnected storylines.

The movies we got in this phase include:

  • Iron Man 3
  • Thor: The Dark World
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier
  • Guardians of the Galaxy
  •  Avengers: Age of Ultron
  • Ant-Man

 Marvel Phase 3 (2016-2019)

Phase 3 took the MCU to new heights of excitement and drama, introducing audiences to new heroes like Doctor Strange, Black Panther, and Captain Marvel.

Here’s the list of movies featured in this phase:

  • Captain America: Civil War
  • Doctor Strange
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 2
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming
  •  Thor: Ragnarok
  • Black Panther
  •  Avengers: Infinity War
  • Ant-Man and the Wasp
  • Captain Marvel
  • Avengers: Endgame

Spider-Man: Far From Home

Marvel Phase 4 (2021-2022)

Phase 4 kickstarted a new era in the MCU, focusing on the aftermath of “Avengers: Endgame.” This phase also saw the debut of Disney+ series like WandaVision, The Falcon and the Winter Soldier, and Loki.

Movies and TV shows featured:

  • WandaVision
  • The Falcon and the Winter Soldier
  • Black Widow
  • Loki season 1
  • What If…?
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
  • Eternals
  • Hawkeye
  • Spider-Man: No Way Home
  • Moon Knight
  • Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness
  • Ms Marvel
  • Thor: Love and Thunder
  • She-Hulk: Attorney At Law
  • Werewolf By Night
  • Black Panther: Wakanda Forever
  • The Guardians of the Galaxy Holiday Special

Marvel Phase 5 (2023-2025)

This is the phase we are currently in the MCU universe. It takes us on another thrilling adventure filled with new heroes, villains, and cosmic challenges.

The movies and TV shows featured include:

  • Ant-Man and The Wasp: Quantumania
  •   Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 3
  • Secret Invasion
  • Loki season 2
  •  The Marvels
  • What If…? Season 2
  • Echo
  • Deadpool 3
  • Agatha: Darkhold Diaries
  • Daredevil: Born Again
  • Captain America: New World Order
  • Ironheart

Marvel Phase 6 (2026-2027)

Phase 6 is set to continue the epic saga with new films and series that will further expand the MCU universe.

Here are the movies and TV shows lined up for release:

  • Fantastic Four
  • Thunderbolts
  • Blade
  • Avengers: The Kang Dynasty
  • Avengers: Secret Wars